Memorial Day

Good morning...good morning.  In less than an hour, fans from here will join others from around the world, and you will be launching the greatest fannish gathering in the history of fankind.  "Fankind" ...that word should have new meaning for all of us today.  We can't be consumed by our petty differences anymore.  We will be united in our common interest.  Perhaps it's fate that today is Memorial Day, and you will once again be fighting for our fandoms;  not from tyranny, oppression, or persecution, but from cancellation.  We are fighting for our shows right to live, to exist.  And should we win the day, Memorial Day will no longer be known as an American holiday, but as the day when the world declared in one voice, "We will not go quietly into the night.  Our shows will not vanish without a fight.  They're going to live on.  They're going to survive.  Today, we celebrate our MediaWest*Con!"  -- Mr. President

Resistance was futile... You have been assimilated... Your unique fannishness has been added to the collective... Have a nice day.

MediaWest*Con 17:  May 23-26, 1997

MediaWest*Con 17

May 23-26, 1997 (Memorial Day Weekend)

Co-Chairs:  Lori Chapek-Carleton & Gordon Carleton

Whether they're attacking national monuments without warning or infiltrating by more subtle means, Hollywood seems obsessed with the theme of alien invasion.  MediaWest*Con 17 tracked the onslaught.

Fandoms represented in panels at MediaWest*Con 17 included Babylon 5, Mr. Bean, Beauty & the Beast, Blake's 7, Buckaroo Banzai, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Cadfael Chronicles, Champions, Dark Skies, Dr. Quinn, Dr. Who, Due South, Early Edition, Emergency!, ER, EZ Streets, Forever Knight, Gargoyles, Garrison's Gorrilla's, Hercules:  The Legendary Journeys, High Incident, Highlander, Jurassic Park:  The Lost World, Kung Fu:  The Legend Continues, LA Firefighters, Lois & Clark:  The New Adv. of Superman, Homicide:  Life on the Street, Independence Day, Modesty Blaise, Millenium, Nash Bridges, NYPD Blue, Outer Limits, Poldark, Poltergeist:  The Legacy, Pretender, Pride & Prejudice, Rat Patrol, Robin of Sherwood, Quantum Leap, seaQuest, Sentinel, Shadow Chasers, Sherlock Holmes, Sliders, Starsky & Hutch, Star Trek (all), Star Wars, 3rd Rock from the Sun, 3 Stooges, U.N.C.L.E., Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, VR.5, Lord Peter Whimsey, Wild Wild West, Wiseguy, Young Riders, Xena:  Warrior Princess, X-Files, and Zorro.

Click here for info on the 1997 Fan Quality Awards.

Art Show Awards

Science Fiction:  End of the Future by Wappel

Fantasy:  Castle Dragon Albert by MacKenn

Detective:  The Ties That Bind by River

Secret Agent:  Shadows & Secrets by McClain

Animation:  Duck Wars by DeSouza

Humor:  Dana, Warrior Woman by Rosenthal

3-D:  Arsenic & Old Lace by Sandmann

Fabric:  Undercover with Bodie & Doyle by Wochoski

Western:  Soiled Doves by Rosenthal

Horror:  The Beast Within by McClain

Portrait: To Reach the Sky by Lovett

Critter:  Not Just Another Lawyer by McClain

Too Cute to Live:  Peek-A-Boo by McCLain

Masquerade Awards

Mix & Match 
Best Workmanship/Best in Show: 

Don't be Afraid to Mix & Match by Jesse McClain 

Goylefrom NY 
Workmanship (on wings & tail) /Best Re-creation: 

A Goyle from New York by Rolaine Smoot 

Most Humorous: 

Blake's 7, the Truth by Katheryn Andersen, Mary O'Connor, & Judith Proctor 

Bringingup the rear 
Best Found/Best Cheap: 

Following Up the Rear by Wolf 

Most Serene: 

Little Grasshopper by Samantha Powell 

Xena,Warrior Babe 
Honorable Mention (for hand stitching): 

Xena, Warrior Babe by Cicatrice du Veritace & Kelly Jeanette Aurora Lowry 

Door Decoration Contest Winners

Best in Show
Due South -- We're Gonna Ride Forever -- Jean Curley, Donna Pleasants, Jill Collins, Joyce Strohm
Funniest Door
Baby-lon 5 -- Michael Emond
Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror
First Prize:  Reduce!  Reuse!  Recycle!  Dalek -- Lisa Truant, Irwin Tan, Stella Luuk, Rob Butler
Second Prize:  The Force, The Comet, & 20 Years of Star Wars -- June M. Edwards
Third Prize:  Poltergeist:  The Legacy -- Vickie "Viper" Swanson
Non-Science Fiction
First Prize:  Due South -- We're Gonna Ride Forever -- Jean Curley, Donna Pleasants, Jill Collins, Joyce Strohm
Second Prize:  The Celestial Portal -- Becky Mock, Kathy Condon
Third Prize:  Hair Today, Gone Tomorrow -- Debbie Ramsey, Catherine Salmon, Sue Cleric
Media Personality
First Prize:  Antonio Bandaras -- The Rising Star -- Deborah Rojano
Second Prize:  Hunks of Hockey -- Julie Skelly
Third Prize:  Watcher Training Academy -- Siouxie Sherman, Tracy Ingalls

This official MediaWest*Con page was updated 6/9/2018 

Back Button

Return to MediaWest*Con Hub Page